How to memorialise or close an account of a deceased person
Previously, when someone died, the only option on LinkedIn to deal with their LinkedIn profile (assuming you had authority to act on their behalf) was to request for it to be closed which meant their profile was no longer searchable or visible on LinkedIn and, whilst it was a solution, it wasn’t ideal as it raised questions about why they weren’t there or even had new requests being sent (yikes!) – a new way had to be found.
LinkedIn have now introduced a second option in which you can ask for a deceased person’s account to be memorialised. According to the LinkedIn release this allows “a person’s legacy to remain on LinkedIn after they have passed away”, and this means their profile will still be visible but will have the words In remembrance under their name and access to the account is locked – so the average user knows that they have passed.
As you would expect there are certain criteria which need to be met to memorialise or close an account:
To memorialise an account:
You can only request this if you are authorised to act on behalf of a deceased member, and you will need the following information to submit your request:
- Member’s full name
- LinkedIn profile link/URL
- Your relationship
- Member’s email address
- Date of their passing
- Copy of the member’s death certificate
- Legal documents to show you have the authority to act on behalf of the member.
Approved legal documents include:
- Letters of Administration issued by a court
- Letters of Testamentary issued by a court
- Letters of Representation issued by a court
- Other court order appointing the requestor as an authorized representative for the deceased member’s estate
You will need to contact LinkedIn with your request and complete a form which can be found here.
Once LinkedIn have confirmed the death of the person their account will be memorialised and:
- Access to the account is locked.
- A memorialized badge appears on the profile page as a symbol of remembrance.
- LinkedIn products are cancelled (except Apple subscriptions).
- Connections to 3rd party services are terminated.
- Mobile and desktop sessions expire immediately.
To close an account:
You will only be able to request this if you have authority to act on behalf of the deceased member and you will need the same information as above and follow the same process. Once LinkedIn have confirmed the death of the person, they will close their account and it will be permanently removed from LinkedIn (this can take up to 21 days).
If you don’t have authority to request an account to be closed or memorialised, you can report a member as deceased which will result in the account being hidden. Once an account is hidden, the profile is no longer searchable or visible on LinkedIn. You will need to complete a form which can be found here.
Hopefully this will help people during difficult times or if you see a profiles of someone no longer with us. As always, if you have any other questions just get in touch.
7 September 2021